I see London, I see France…

Recently, by some stroke of scheduling luck/karma/voodo/miracle, the kiddo and I joined Ben for a work trip, first to Paris and then to London. While life here along the equator is pretty great, the difficulties of a developing country can wear on you after awhile so this last minute vacation came at a much needed time. Full disclosure: at this point in the conversation I had intended to describe said difficulties with my quintessential witty prose (indulge me), but no matter what I wrote, it rather sounded like I was whining. Then I happened to listen to a recent 60 Minutes segment on Middle Eastern and North African migrants risking their lives for a chance to survive in Europe and it solidified my suspicions: I was whining. I’m not sure if I’ll every fully grasp how lucky I am to be an American, but that segment sure did nudge me in that direction. Not that the U.S. is without its faults, but at the end of the day we are so. damn. lucky.

So with a new reminder of the fortunate place I landed when my mama brought me into this world, not to mention a nagging feeling that the more I talk about my luck the faster I’ll jinx myself, I give you pics from Paris and London.

paris collage for blog
From top left, going clockwise: inside Notre Dame, the Eiffel Tower, the Love Lock Bridge, a walking tunnel along the Seine, the Seine River, Notre Dame Cathedral
Moving clockwise from top left: the back side of Notre Dame; macarons (heaven on a plate!); inside Notre Dame; the dome inside The Galeries Lafayette, an upscale shopping center in Paris
Moving clockwise from top left: the back side of Notre Dame; macarons (heaven on a plate!); inside Notre Dame; the dome inside The Galeries Lafayette, an upscale shopping center in Paris
Next up, London! Moving clockwise from top left: Big Ben and Parliament, Big Ben, St. Margaret's Church in foreground with Big Ben in background, Westminster Abbey, front gate of Buckingham Palace, Parliament (with a wonderful bird photo bomb)
Next up, London! Moving clockwise from top left: Big Ben and Parliament; Big Ben; St. Margaret’s Church in foreground with Big Ben in background; Westminster Abbey; front gate of Buckingham Palace; Parliament (with a wonderful bird photo bomb)
I call this collage All About Hyde since we went to Hyde Park nearly every day. Moving clockwise from top left: The Long Water; a telephone booth outside of Hyde Park; one of many expansive green fields in the park; the pirate ship at Princess Diana Memorial Playground; the backside of Kensington Palace (photography is forbidden along the front); a fountain at the Italian Gardens inside the park
I call this collage All About Hyde since we went to Hyde Park nearly every day. Moving clockwise from top left: The Long Water (capitalized because that is indeed the name of the body of water); a telephone booth outside of Hyde Park; one of many expansive green fields in the park (oh the things you document when you don’t see them everyday); the pirate ship at Princess Diana Memorial Playground; the backside of Kensington Palace (photography is forbidden along the front); a fountain at the Italian Gardens inside the park
Leave a Reply

