Baby blanket for a toddler

Nearly two years ago I embarked on the most difficult project I’ve accomplished to date. No, not having a child, silly, but making and finishing a quilt!

Quilt close up
Quilt close up

I kid, I kid, but seriously this was time consuming. As soon as I found out I was having a girl (week 20), I ordered fabric and found a pattern. However, I didn’t have a sewing machine yet so I pieced the quilt top by hand. It took for-eh-ver. My memory fails me as to when I finished that portion–either right before the baby arrived (week 41) or just after. Then while we were in DC for language training, I purchased a machine and in my free time (i.e. times when baby was asleep and I had enough energy to stay awake and be productive, so like three times) began quilting the layers together. And a few days before Christmas I finally finished! It isn’t perfect (if you ever come over, please just don’t try to fold it…the corners will never ever match up) and I absolutely would have done things differently (the thing is mostly white…I definitely had no children when I chose the colors), but I learned so much and hope to make one again soon (this isn’t a pregnancy announcement, just a general desire to make a quilt).

Baby quilt with accompanying baby gear in background
Baby quilt with accompanying baby gear in background
Baby quilt with accompanying baby head in foreground
Baby quilt with accompanying baby head in foreground
Leave a Reply

