It’s a Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood…

Well, after a two week trip back to AL for my sis’s wedding (congrats y’all!), I’m now in Guangzhou for good! As promised, I want to intersperse a bit of China into our recipe journal, so I thought I’d start with a few shots of scenes around our neck of the woods. While I was gone, Guangzhou conjured up a welcome-back present in the form of breezy, pleasantly warm weather. Not to mention the Canton Fair began as I was returning, which equates to massive factory shutdowns (i.e. clear skies) as the city dons its Sunday Best for the massive influx of vendors from around the globe. I took advantage by taking an early morning walk, camera in tow.

From the day I first laid eyes on it, I have been aching to get some shots of this church. Isn’t it beautiful! While I haven’t seen many churches in Guangzhou, those I have spotted are quite old and elaborate, i.e. perfect spots for photography practice. And in case you were wondering, this architecture is undeniably not Chinese. Some of the European influence of the 19th century still exists in pockets around Guangzhou.

Another popular scene around here, especially in the mornings, is that of retirees exercising in the park. Today was particularly crowded which I’m sure is due to the weather. I swear, before I left you could break a sweat just thinking about going outside. But now it feels, dare I say it, wonderful?! Wonderful in the early-mid May kinda way, mind you.  Real Fall has yet to hit. Who am I kidding, does Real Fall even exist here?? If I spot an orange leaf I’ll be sure to let you know…

Badminton is very popular here. For some reason it always reminds me of Gilligan's Island. Yeah, I'm not sure why either.
Exercising in the park. Maybe I'll join them some day...

And then there’s the local outdoor market or “wet market” as it’s called here. This market offers a large variety of fresh fruits, vegetables and meat. I wanted to get more shots, but in an effort to reduce the number of stares directed my way,  I just took one quick shot. Even though it’s dark, this may be my favorite China photo to date. It perfectly captures the idea that when it comes to food, anything goes in Guangzhou. Including getting a feel for the meat before you buy. Tasty!

Feels like a winner...I'll take it!

2 thoughts on “It’s a Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood…

  1. tamhinc@comcast.net

    Enjoyed reading your stuff…. A feel for the meat before you buy it..Boy the FDA would never allow this….Keep us informed.. Aunt Minnie

Leave a Reply

